For our official Facebook page click here. We are not affiliated with any other pages. We do not condone any trespassing. Always ask for permission.

Latlng: (44.04458, -79.87)

Other Locations nearby
Adjala-Tosorontio

Keenansville (ghost town)

Report

Discovered by clay70
Created Apr 19 2010
Recent status Abandoned
Category Ghost Town
City Adjala-Tosorontio, Ontario
Location # 1436
Liked by 0 User(s)

Just NE of Ballycroy in Adjala-Tosorontio Township lies this ghost town on the Keenansville Rd. New homes have been built in the picturesque location and so the ghosts and emptiness of the former ghost town have been filled.

Named after Robert Keenan, active in Township and County politics 1846 - 1858, a thriving centre developed with Post Office established 1855, followed by Saw Mill, Woollen Mill, General Store, Blacksmith(a)s Shop, Hotel, Undertaker(a)s Shop, Township Offices, Hall and Fair Grounds.

County Court was established in 1852, with Squire McManus presiding, 1865 - 1881, George Hughes published weekly newspaper, South Simcoe Observer, later Cordwall Sentinel. A public school served this area 1850 - 1912.

Decline began after 1877, when Hamilton North Western Railroad was built through Tottenham and Beeton area. By mid-20th century, Keenansville had become one of many ghost towns thus created in Simcoe County.

Latlng: (44.04458, -79.87)

Comments

Please log in to leave a comment

No comments yet