Ontario Abandoned Places Homepage
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

New to Urban Exploration.

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Tempast View Drop Down
Basic Member
Basic Member

Post Options Post Options   Quote Tempast Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: New to Urban Exploration.
    Posted: 13 Jan 2020 at 7:31pm
I'm New to Urban Exploring, and I have a couple of questions for anyone who's Been doing it a bit longer than me. Like if there's anyway to Prepare for seeing other people at the location I'm at. Or if there's any tools that I should Bring? I'm mostly Wondering if there's a reliable way to get into the hobby. Or if I should just Start walking down the street and hope for the best. 
solid_snake View Drop Down
Basic Member
Basic Member

Post Options Post Options   Quote solid_snake Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Jan 2020 at 12:46am
Be prepared to be approached by a property owner and asked why you're there/asked to leave/told the police have been called and you're trespassing. As long as none of those bother you, or you've got a response for each/are prepared for each, seeing other people won't bother you. Most times, if you can make it clear you're just curious and want to document things as opposed to destroy them, you won't have any trouble. Be prepared to ask questions; no matter who you might run into, they might know something you don't and you might know something they don't about where you are.

As for what to bring, that can be kinda situational if you've had a chance to scout a location. My general adventure bag consists of a camera, a flashlight, a first aid kit, a knife/multi tool, some snacks and water, a lighter, some rope, and a bucket all inside of a backpack. Sometimes these are removed or substituted depending on where I'm going and what I know about the environment.