Ontario Abandoned Places
Photographs and stories from thousands of abandoned houses across Canada
Create A Location
Keenansville (ghost town)
Creation Date: 4/19/2010
Last Updated: 10/17/2010
Just NE of Ballycroy in Adjala-Tosorontio Township lies this ghost town on the Keenansville Rd. New homes have been built in the picturesque location and so the ghosts and emptiness of the former ghost town have been filled.
Named after Robert Keenan, active in Township and County politics 1846 - 1858, a thriving centre developed with Post Office established 1855, followed by Saw Mill, Woollen Mill, General Store, Blacksmith's Shop, Hotel, Undertaker's Shop, Township Offices, Hall and Fair Grounds.
County Court was established in 1852, with Squire McManus presiding, 1865 - 1881, George Hughes published weekly newspaper, South Simcoe Observer, later Cordwall Sentinel. A public school served this area 1850 - 1912.
Decline began after 1877, when Hamilton North Western Railroad was built through Tottenham and Beeton area. By mid-20th century, Keenansville had become one of many ghost towns thus created in Simcoe County.
Created by: clay70
Create Photo Gallery
Google Maps are only shown to logged in members.
Address: Keenansville Road, New Tecumseth, ON L0G 1W0, Canada
To request this location be removed,